Former deputy secretary for youth affairs Saviour Kasukuwere has been handed the indigenisation and economic empowerment portfolio that was left vacant following national army veteran Vitalis Zvinavashe’s death last year. Dzikamai Mavhaire rises to take over the department of production and labour, while Obert Mpofu and David Parirenyatwa were appointed to head the economic affairs and health and child welfare departments respectively.

Mugabe however made one surprise appointment of Rugare Gumbo as  secretary for information replacing  Nathan Shamuyarira who now retires.

Webster Shamu (pictured-right-in-sun glasses) who was earlier on tipped for secretary of  information was appointed secretary for the commissariat. Abigail Damasane heads the gender and culture department.

Sithembiso Nyoni and Francis Nhema have been appointed to the new portfolios of business development and liaison, and environment and tourism respectively.

Members who maintained their positions are Didymus Mutasa (administration), David Karimanzira (finance), Emmerson Mnangagwa (legal affairs), Oppah Muchinguri (women’s affairs), Absolom Sikhosana (youth affairs), Ignatious Chombo (land reform and resettlement), Stanley Sakupwanya (welfare of the disabled and disadvantaged persons) and Olivia Muchena (science and technology).

Some Politburo members that have moved portfolios are Sydney Sekeramayi (national security) Stan Mudenge (external relations) and Nicholas Goche (transport and welfare).

New and returning Politburo members include Edson Ncube (deputy secretary for administration), Charles Tawengwa (deputy, finance)Abednico Ncube (deputy, external relations) Samuel Mugande (deputy, transport and welfare) Patrick Chinamasa (deputy, legal affairs) Richard Ndlovu (deputy, production and labour), Eunice Sandi Moyo (deputy, women’s affairs) Eddison Chakanyuka (deputy, youth affairs) and Lazarus Dokora (deputy, education).

Kudakwashe Bhasikiti (deputy, economic affairs) Douglas Mombeshora (deputy, health and child welfare), Tendai Savanhu (deputy, indigenisation and economic empowerment) S Mukusha (deputy, gender and culture) Herbert Murerwa (deputy, land and resettlement), Joshua Malinga (deputy, disabled and disadvantaged persons), Patrick Zhuwao (deputy, science and technology),James Gumpo (deputy, business development and liaison) and Nelson Mawema (deputy, environment and tourism).

Committee members are Solomon Mujuru, Tsitsi Muzenda, Victoria Chitepo, Kumbirai Kangai, A Chimbudzi, Nathan Shamuyarira, Naison Ndlovu, Thokozile Mathuthu, Angeline Masuku, Khantibai Patel, Tshinga Dube, Munacho Mutezo, Cephas Msipa, Josiah Hungwe, Jacob Mudenda, Flora Bhuka, Cliveria Chizema.